The Ten Best Period Drama Quotes, Ever.

10.Emma (1995, Kate Beckinsale version)

pdvd_042

Mr. Knightley: She refused him?

Emma: Yes.

Mr. Knightley: Harriet Smith refused Robert Martin?

Emma: Yes!

Mr. Knightley: Then she’s a greater simpleton than I thought! What is the foolish girl about?

Emma: Oh to be sure, a man always imagines a woman to be ready for anyone who asks her!

Mr. Knightley: Nonsense, a man does not imagine any such thing!

9.Sense and Sensibility (2008)

tumblr_lxldhcSoJY1qlll6ko1_500

Margaret: If I were a brother instead of a sister, I would fight Willoughby and kill him with my sword!

Mrs. Dashwood: Then it’s a good job you’re not, for I should hate to see you hanged for murder.

8.Pride and Prejudice (1995)

netherfield-ball-mr-and-mrs-bennet-fruit

Mrs. Bennet: Well, when you have killed all your own birds, Mr. Bingley, you may come here and shoot as many as you please on Mr. Bennet’s manor!

7.Persuasion (1995)

Persuasion-1995-persuasion-2565128-471-448

Anne: We do not forget you as soon as you forget us. We cannot help ourselves. We live at home, quiet, confined, and our feelings prey upon us. You always have business of some sort or other to take you back into the world.

Captain Harville: I won’t allow it to be any more man’s nature than women’s to be inconstant or to forget those they love or have loved. I believe the reverse. I believe… Let me just observe that all histories are against you, all stories, prose, and verse. I do not think I ever opened a book in my life which did not have something to say on women’s fickleness.

Anne: But they were all written by men.

6.Little Women (1994)

beth letter

Beth:  I was never like the rest of you… making plans about the great things I’d do. I never saw myself as anything much. Not a great writer like you.

Jo: Beth, I’m not a great writer.

Beth: But you will be. Oh, Jo, I’ve missed you so. Why does everyone want to go away? I love being home. But I don’t like being left behind. Now I’m the one going ahead. I am not afraid. I can be brave like you. But I know I will be homesick for you, even in heaven.

5.The Wind and the Lion

wndlx26403

Raisuli: To Theodore Roosevelt – you are like the Wind and I like the Lion. You form the Tempest. The sand stings my eyes and the ground is parched. I roar in defiance, but you do not hear. But between us there is a difference. I, like the lion, must remain in my place. While you, like the wind, will never know yours.

4.Doctor Zhivago

doctorzhivago-01

Yevgraf: One day she went away and didn’t come back. She died or vanished somewhere, in one of the labour camps. A nameless number on a list that was afterwards mislaid.

3.Chariots of Fire.

Sybil seeks to understand Harold

Harold: It’s an ache. A helplessness. And anger. Sometimes I say to myself, ‘steady on, you’re imagining all this’. But then I catch that look again. Catch it on the edge of a remark. Feel the cold reluctance in a handshake.

2.The Man in the Iron Mask 1998

still-of-leonardo-dicaprio-and-john-malkovich-in-omul-cu-masca-de-fier

Athos: Yes, Raoul is my reason, but not in the way you think. Once I, once all of us, had a dream that we might spend our lives in the service of something greater than ourselves. Aramis had his faith, Porthos his lust for life, D’Artagnan his devotion, and I had Raoul. But we all had a common dream: that we might someday be able to serve a king worthy of the throne. It is what we dreamt, what we bled for, and what we have spent a lifetime waiting to see. I taught Raoul to believe in that dream. And now my son is dead. Now I am here to discover if his life was in vain. And the only person who can answer that question is you.

1.Jane Eyre (2006)

40

Jane: I would never forget you. How can you imagine that? What do you think I am? Do you think I’m a machine? That I can bear it? Do you think that because I am poor, plain, obscure and little that I have no heart? That I am without soul? I have as much heart as you and as much soul. And if God had given me some beauty and wealth, he would make it as hard for you to leave me as it is now for me to leave you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

